BMW

BMW 503 Coupé

140 HP103 KW
1956 build year
179.000 Euro

Details

The BMW 503 Coupé was an elaborately designed sports coupé in the luxury class. It was presented together with the 503 Cabriolet and the BMW 507 at the IAA in 1955 and these two models represented the top models in the BMW model range.

The body is made entirely of aluminium and was manufactured at Baur in Stuttgart. The powerful 3.2 litre V8 engine was also cast entirely from aluminium and remained for a long time the only aluminium V8 manufactured in Germany. The engine produced 140 hp/103 kw in the 503 and accelerated the car to 100 km/h in 13.3 seconds and an impressive top speed of 190 km/h.

So much luxury came at a price and so the BMW 503 Coupé was initially priced at DM 29,500 and by the end of its build it was DM 32,950. This made it more expensive than a Mercedes-Benz 300 SL Gullwing and, depending on the region, you could get your own home for the money. Thus the pleasure of driving a BMW 503 remained very exclusive and only 273 coupés were built in two series. Only 136 of the first series were built.

The first series can be quickly recognised by the characteristic chrome trim, which points upwards at the rear of the 1st series, whereas this runs straight out at the rear of the 2nd series. The first series also had a steering wheel gearstick and even hydraulic window lifters. In addition, the ashtray was still located under the dashboard, which made for a nicer dashboard.

This early car from the 1st series was delivered to Portugal on 17.09.1956 to the local importer Russo&Irmao in Lisbon. The first owner chose the tasteful colour combination of stone grey.

Like a large proportion of the BMW 502, 503 and 507, the car received an exchange engine during its life. In this case, a brand-new unit without a number, into which the number belonging to the chassis number was then stamped again. This was common practice at BMW and other manufacturers at the time. The stroke number pattern is absolutely authentic and was carried out with the original stroke numbers. You can only notice the swap by the fact that the engine is the more robust version with 11 stud bolts, which was only introduced in 1957.

It has been in Germany for about 30 years and has a current German registration. The car was restored in Germany in the early 1990s. In the process, the interior, which is in good condition, was recoloured and the front seats were reupholstered. The exterior colour was changed to a slightly lighter shade of grey. The work is very well documented with receipts and invoices.

A rare opportunity to buy one of only 136 1st series BMW 503 Coupés built.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any further questions.

We prepare our descriptions and advertisements very conscientiously and carefully. Nevertheless, we ask for your understanding that the details given here are non-binding descriptions which do not represent guaranteed characteristics. We are not liable for errors, input errors and data transmission errors and reserve the right to make changes and prior sale. In this case, the sale is made on behalf of the customer without disclosure of VAT.

 

Request

Bastian Voigt Collectors Cars GmbH
Zedernstr. 14
33415 Verl
Germany

Phone: + 49 5246 9330337
E-Mail: bastian@bastianvoigt.de
WWW: www.bastianvoigt.de

Yes, I have read the privacy policy and I agree that the data I provide will be collected and stored electronically. My data is used only strictly earmarked for processing and answering my request. By submitting the contact form I agree to the processing.

BMW

503 Coupé

190 PS140 KW
1956 Baujahr
210000 Euro

Details

Das BMW 503 Coupé war ein aufwändig konstruiertes Sportcoupé der Luxusklasse. Er wurde zusammen mit dem 503 Cabriolet und dem BMW 507 im Jahre 1955 auf der IAA vorgestellt und diese beiden Modelle stellten die Topmodelle der BMW Modellpalette dar.

Die Karosserie ist komplett aus Aluminium und wurde bei Baur in Stuttgart gefertigt. Der leistungsstarke 3.2 Liter V8 Motor war ebenfalls komplett aus Aluminium gegossen und blieb lange Zeit der einzige in Deutschland gefertigt Alu-V8. Der Motor leistet im 503 140 PS/103 kw und beschleunigt den Wagen in 13,3 Sekunden auf 100 km/h und auf eine beeindruckende Höchstgeschwindigkeit von 190 km/h.

Soviel Luxus hatte seinen Preis und so lag der Preis des BMW 503 Coupés anfangs 29.500 DM und am Ende der Bauzeit 32.950 DM. Er war damit teurer als ein Mercedes-Benz 300 SL Flügeltürer und je nach Region bekam man für das Geld auch schon ein Eigenheim. So blieb das Vergnügen einen BMW 503 zu fahren sehr exklusiv und es wurden insgesamt nur 273 Coupés in zwei Serien gebaut. Von der 1. Serie wurden dabei nur 136 Fahrzeuge gebaut.

Die erste Serie kann man schnell an der charakteristischen Chromzierleiste erkennen, die bei der 1. Serie am Heck nach oben zeigt, währen diese bei der 2. Serie gerade ausläuft. Die erste Serie verfügte zudem über eine Lenkradschaltung und sogar über hydraulische Fensterheber. Zudem war der Aschenbecher noch unter dem Armaturenbrett angeordnet, was ein schöneres Armaturenbrett mit sich brachte.

Dieser frühe Wagen aus der 1. Serie wurde am 17.09.1956 nach Portugal an den dortigen Importeur Russo&Irmao in Lissabon ausgeliefert. Der Erstbesitzer wählte die geschmackvolle Farbkombination Steingrau mit rotem Leder.

Wie ein großer Teil der BMW 502, 503 und 507 erhielt der Wagen im Laufe seines Lebens einen Tauschmotor. In diesem Fall ein fabrikneues Aggregat ohne Nummer, in den dann wieder die zur Fahrgestellnummer gehörende Nummer eingeschlagen wurde. Das war damals die übliche Praxis bei BMW und auch bei anderen Herstellern. Das Schlagzahlenbild ist absolut authentisch und mit den originalen Schlagzahlen durchgeführt worden. Man merkt den Tausch nur daran, dass es sich bei dem Motor um die robustere Ausführung mit 11 Stehbolzen handelt, die erst 1957 eingeführt wurde.

Er ist seit einigen Jahren in Deutschland und hat eine aktuelle Deutsche Zulassung. Der Wagen wurde Anfang der 1990er Jahre in Deutschland restauriert. Die Arbeiten sind sehr gut durch Belege und Rechnungen dokumentiert.

Eine seltene Gelegenheit eines von nur 136 gebauten BMW 503 Coupés der 1. Serie zu kaufen.

Bei weiteren Rückfragen stehe ich Ihnen gerne zur Verfügung.

Anfrage

Bastian Voigt GmbH
Zedernstraße 14
33415 Verl

Fon: + 49 5246 9330337
Mobile: + 49 151 26378269
E-Mail: info@bastianvoigt.de
WWW: www.bastianvoigt.de

Ja, ich habe die Datenschutzerklärung zur Kenntnis genommen und bin damit einverstanden, dass die von mir angegebenen Daten elektronisch erhoben und gespeichert werden. Meine Daten werden dabei nur streng zweckgebunden zur Bearbeitung und Beantwortung meiner Anfrage benutzt. Mit dem Absenden des Kontaktformulars erkläre ich mich mit der Verarbeitung einverstanden.